Our Blog Calendar Sign up for updates Donate

public education


public education

The NYIC offers free public education events to the community at large covering a wide range of topics.
To set up a community education event, please review the list of topics below and contact the appropriate staff person.  When you call or email, please specify the name of your organization, the topic you want us to speak about, the date and time of the presentation you want to set up, and the address where the event would be held.
Advocacy and Organizing
Jackie Vimo, Director of Advocacy
212-627-2227 x248, jvimo@thenyic.org
Immigration reform, civil rights & civil liberties
Christina Chang, Immigration Advocacy Manager
212-627-2227 x 237, cchang@thenyic.org
Health care policy and access issues
Claudia Calhoon, 212-627-2227 x 249, ccalhoon@thenyic.org
Access of Newcomer Students to NYC Public Schools
Kim Sykes, 212-627-2227 x 232, ksykes@thenyic.org
Advocacy, Civic Engagement, NonPartisan Electoral Outreach, Voter Registration, Community Outreach, Capacity Development, Media and Communications Management, Message Development, Campaign Strategy, Event Management, and Power Analysis
Murad Awawdeh, Civic Engagement Coordinator
212-627-2227 x229, mawawdeh@thenyic.org
Immigration Law
Camille J. Mackler, Director of Legal Initiatives
 212-627-2227 x 226, cmackler@thenyic.org
The NYIC provides training and legal support to NYIC member agencies and other non-profits to prepare and file an application for Board of Immigration Appeals recognition for the member agency and accreditation for the organization’s staff.  For NYIC member agencies that are authorized to provide immigration legal services, the NYIC provides limited technical assistance on immigration legal questions.  Please contact Camille J. Mackler, the NYIC’s director of training and technical assistance, for more information. 



 Rss Feed    Site Map    Terms of Use    Feedback    Contact Us